I Took the Challenge . . . .

March 11, 2014 at 10:23 am Leave a comment

. . .  have you?  The SOQS announced a Call for Fabric Postcard Entries for the Wish Upon A Card project.  The” skies the limit” in regards to the design of the 4″ x 6″ card, using any type of fabric BUT there is also an optional Challenge – these cards must incorporate the  Michael Miller Challenge Fabric  (and SOQS will provide the fabric swatch).  Yes, I’m taking the Challenge.  As a SOQS employee working directly on the project, I do NOT qualify for any of the cash prizes – I just enjoy trying  something new.  For an entry to be juried for the Silent Auction or the Michael Miller Challenge, it must be received by April 15th.  Please note all entries are donated to SOQS as a fundraiser for Wendy’s Wish.

Inspiration from Forrest

Inspiration from Forrest

The inspiration I’m using for my card comes from the work of American artist William H. Johnson referred to as “Flowers”  and artwork from my son, Forrest, when he was in second grade  – yikes, that’s 12 years ago! I was first introduced to Johnson’s work via a U.S. postage stamp released in 2012.  Another challenge –  I plan to add textural stitches demonstrated in Sue Spargo’s book – Creative Stitching.  Many of the stitches are new to me but I’m looking forward to learning as I travel this path.

Next month, I’ll share the finished card along with the experiences I encountered along way.   Happy trails on your creative journey.

Kathy Pazera
Special Projects Coordinator                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Donor Appreciation Event – An evening of Color and Creativity “Fabrications: The Art of Quilting” Reception & Exhibit

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

