Quilt for Two Rivers – Reawakening the Whychus

May 1, 2012 at 4:08 am Leave a comment

Fiber artists collaborating on the Quilt for Two Rivers are blogging about their quilt panels for the 40-foot masterpiece-in-progress which honors Sisters, Oregon’s Treasured Landscapes.  Featured this week:

“REAWAKENING THE WHYCHUS”

I feel honored to have been asked to participate in this amazing project along with 20 “Master Quilters” from Central Oregon.  When we first got together and were taken on a hike along the creek, my eyes were opened to the important and demanding work of river restoration groups in bringing back the beauty and functionality of Whychus Creek.  I took many photos and began to imagine my quilt piece.

Whychus Creek as interpreted by Mary Stiewig for the Quilt for Two Rivers

I love to work with fiber in unusual ways.  I am fascinated with nature with its ever-flowing lines.  Most of my fiber art is representational of real life.  I find myself on a journey with fiber, enjoying the mystery of the process.  Often a finished piece becomes totally different from my original conception.

Several of my photos showed the creek flowing behind a very large ponderosa pine tree.  I began by placing the tree in the foreground along with several large rocks.  To help the river “flow” I used twisted fabrics, painted cheesecloth and shimmery pieces to create movement.  Two big things I strive for in my pieces are texture and dimension.  To achieve these I used purchased and hand-painted fabrics, with many embellishments such as yarns, wools, painted clouds, and sparkling tulle.  I stuffed the rocks to show dimension.  I sprinkled snippets of brightly-colored cloth and even used small pieces of raffia.

This has been an enlightening journey, both in contributing to such a worthy cause, and in enabling me to add to my quilting experience.

–Mary Stiewig

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Quilt for Two Rivers: Incorporating Found Objects into the Quilt Quilt for Two Rivers: Blue Moon Paddle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

