Quilt for Two Rivers: Making Things Better for Us and Fish

April 4, 2012 at 7:03 am 1 comment

Fiber artists collaborating on the Quilt for Two Rivers are blogging about their quilt panels for the 40-foot masterpiece-in-progress which honors Sisters, Oregon’s Treasured Landscapes.  Featured this week:

“MAKING THINGS BETTER FOR US AND FISH”

I feel honored to be asked to participate in this project on many levels. First of all to show my work along with some of the best known quilting artists in the area.  And second to be challenged to capture the beauty of the environment that we live in. 

My quilting journey started when I move to Central Oregon in 2003.  I live in Redmond in a wonderful retirement community that is an active and a vibrant part of the area.  We moved here to take advantage of the sunshine and the golf.

Since I have never been a traditional quilter I have had to find my passion in this medium.  I love painting fabric and embellishment, but I have had to learn to stitch, too.  This Two Rivers quilt was a challenge as I don’t usually work from a photo, but in this case I used two photos taken this fall by a neighbor. Because my quilt has a 50-inch length I used some landscape from both of the photos.

As I began to plan my design I choose the natural earth tones in my fabrics and embellishments. I thread painted many of my embellishments and attached them with appliqué.  My river was pieced and painted to add shadows.

This art project has been a great way to feel a part of what is happening to preserve our area and make it better for us and the fish.

–Charlene Kenny

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Quilt for Two Rivers: Spirits in the Trees How quilters are supporting river and fish restoration through the Quilt for Two Rivers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carole  |  April 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

    This is such a fantastic project! I can’t wait to see it in person this summer. So glad I signed up for the weekly updates. What talented and inspiring artists!
    Suggestion: if it hasn’t been thought of already, a video of each artist describing her panel in order of its location on the panel, with Closeups of the intricacy, would be a great benefit to other quilt artists and fans; plus an additional fund raiser for the Project. I would LOVE one!
    God Bless You all for your passion and dedication to this project!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

