Quilt for Two Rivers – Upper Chush Falls

March 20, 2012 at 9:25 am 1 comment

Fiber artists collaborating on the Quilt for Two Rivers are blogging about their quilt panels for the 40-foot masterpiece-in-progress which honors Sisters, Oregon’s Treasured Landscapes. Featured this week:

“CHUSH FALLS”

I am creating one of the four long quilts that are separate from the actual 40-foot quilt.  My work depicts Kaluwas Falls.  It is sometimes called Upper Chush Falls, but it’s officially named Kaluwas Falls which means “rim of the basket” in the Sahaptin dialect.

ImageThe falls are born from the glaciers on Broken Top and the Three Sisters mountains, and are just inside the Three Sisters Wilderness boundary.  It is a 223-foot waterfall surrounded by spruce, fir, lodge pole and ponderosa pine trees in an area designated a Wild and Scenic River by Congress in 1992.

Since it is a very difficult place to get to, I relied on photographs loaned to me from friends who are better hikers than I, along with information from the Internet, in developing my piece.

Image

In making the quilt I have auditioned stacks and stacks of fabric from my rather extensive stash.  This has taken a number of weeks of elimination but I feel that now I have a direction and am off and running.  This has taken some time but I wanted to feel I am depicting the location in a convincing manner.  The process has been very enlightening so far.

–Ruth Golden Ingham

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Quilt for Two Rivers: Spirits in the Trees

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cate  |  March 22, 2012 at 6:51 am

    I think you have a beautiful start, Ruth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

