Quilt for Two Rivers – the Headwaters Panel

March 1, 2012 at 10:21 am 1 comment

Fiber artists collaborating on the Quilt for Two Rivers are blogging about their quilt panels for the 40-foot masterpiece-in-progress which honors Sisters, Oregon’s Treasured Landscapes. Featured this week:

“HEADWATERS OF WHYCHUS CREEK”

Panel #1

When I accepted the challenge to do the headwaters of Whychus Creek, I rationally knew this was the source or the place where the water of a stream originates. I have in the past made several realistic or representational quilts. But I at first did not have a vision of the headwaters, because I had not been there to see the source. Neither could I find pictures.

I talked with several people and it became clear that my quilt had to include the Three Sisters Mountains, with snow and rocks for the water to flow from beneath the rocks. The creek also needed to be large enough to meet at the right side where the next quilt #2 meets my quilt.

My quilt, “Headwaters of Whychus Creek,” is a product of my imagination that hopefully fulfills the above challenges. Another challenge I had was working predominantly in white since this is a snow scene. My pieces normally show my love of color.

As a native Central Oregonian, I have seen many changes in this area both positive and negative. This project is very important to me, to be able to help even in this very small amount to contribute to the restoration of the beauty of Central Oregon’s Whychus Creek for future generations. I currently reside in Terrebonne, have sewn my whole life and wear my newest title “Grammy” as a badge of honor.
–Sheila Finzer

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Quilt for Two Rivers: A Metolius Meander Quilt for Two Rivers – The Sparkly Metolius

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carole K  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:26 am

    this is an extraordinary art Piece! I cannot wait to see the entire thing. What an amazing thing to be part of: the restoration of an area you love. Gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

