March 14, 2010 at 8:41 am Leave a comment

We met some fabulous people at the Northwest Festivals and Events conference last weekend.  If the people planning it ‘make the event’, ya gotta go to the Issaquah (WA) Salmon Days Festival.  They won numerous awards for their event and Robin Kelly, the event director is a super person.  She was so willing to share what’s working well for them and just a darn nice person.

Last night we watched a PBS series called “Craft in America“.  If you haven’t seen it, you should pick it up from your local library or Netflix.  The third episode in Season 1 focuses on “community” and kicks off with a group of quilters and continues  to share different artist communities and how the interaction influences the individual artist’s work.  I highly recommend this series! It really speaks to how we all tend to work – alone in our sewing rooms, but gathering together for special events, guilds, etc. for inspiration.  And some of the other art mediums were just beautiful.  An Alaskan couple makes some fabulous jewelry and they showed a beautiful piece with killer whales inlayed (inlaid?) with beautiful stones.  The series was produced in 2007 – look for it!

I started on my postcards for the Wish Upon a Card project.  What I find really easy is to just look around my sewing room and see what ‘parts’ I have made and not used in the past year.  I always seem to have a little something that I can cut down to fit 4″ x 6″ or add a little bit to make it big enough. I use Fast2Fuse in the center, but you can really use any stabilizer.  The Kokopelli is a little piece I made several years ago for a Row Quilt project with my quilting group.  It never made it into the finished row, so its just been hanging around and I’m ready to let it go.  The two little New York Beauties are from a quilt I’m working on now and the fourth one was from a sample piece I made for a class that I don’t even remember. Postcards will be juried mid- to late-April so we need them by April 15.  Proceeds benefit Wendy’s Wish Foundation.  They provide funding for cancer screening and other services that some people can’t afford.

Its going to be  beautiful day here in Sisters and I think I’ll get the mountain bike out and take the corgis for a ride/run!  Have a great week

Entry filed under: Uncategorized, Wish Upon a Card. Tags: .

Raffle Quilt Community Partner

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Become a Friend of the Show

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

